La Vie Boheme

The financial life of an actor can be described in one word: tragic. And in all fairness, being poor sucks. However, the bohemian lifestyle has its higher points as well.

I have found that by living the life of a poor actor, I am not only more grateful for the things I have and can afford, but, I am also quite creative when it comes to spending. Riddle me this: It is the end of the month. I am patiently awaiting my next paycheck. My Coffee Emporium account is at nil, I’m out of smokes, the pantry is slim pickins, I owe my roommate five bucks, and my gas tank leaves a lot to be desired. What do I do? Well typically, I prioritize. Do I always make the right choices? I would say less than regularly. I usually pick gas first, and then scrape some coins together to go have a beer with a friend and say to hell with the rest of the list.

Then, of course, there are the “cop out” options. For example, why buy a song on iTunes when I can easily just listen to it on YouTube. Or perhaps I can’t find the right shirt to wear to an opening night party at the theatre. I can always borrow one from the costume shop and forego the twenty-five bucks I would have spent at Target.

I know, that no matter what, I will find a way to make ends meet. Even if my car runs out of gas and I have to take the bus for the rest of the month. Or even if I have to survive on only cereal and ramen for a few days, all will be well. And, I have to say, I kind of enjoy it.

The way I see it – everything does happen for a reason. I am learning a lot by going through this time in my life. And I am so happy and grateful to have a job in my field right out of college that pays me. And I don’t have to pay rent! I am so lucky!

One day I will be rich and successful (here’s to hoping!) and I will look back on these days and smile. Until then, I will just listen to “La vie boheme” on repeat, and celebrate the lifestyle I have chosen along with the cast of Jonathan Larson’s Rent.

Cheers! In the immortal words of Mark Cohen, “We raise our glass, you bet your ass, to la vie boheme!”

Leave a Reply

